Laboratory of Terahertz Technology: Understanding the Matter

Condensed matter physics

Condensed matter as a broad branch of physics is important not only for fundamental, but also for theoretical positions. The study of regularities in condensed matter behavior is basic for control of material properties, for making new materials, and for development of the up-to-date elements and devices.

Optical strongly correlated systems and spectroscopic methods

The development of light control technologies is a relevant problem of modern physics and engineering. Recently photonic crystals and metamaterials that are media with spatial periodicity of dielectric permittivity and permeability attract much attention in this direction. The photons’ behavior in such media with long-range correlations principally differs from the ordinary homogeneous media. This leads to a large complex of new phenomena, i.e. band gaps, light localization etc.

THz imaging system, and the interaction of radiation with structured materials

Terahertz imaging systems are valuable for different applications: in life safety systems, biomedical applications, for technological and operational control of polymer structures. For the development of such systems it is important to understand the principles of THz propagation in complex materials, including locally ordered media.

News

2 NOV 2017

International scientific seminars "Fundamental and applied problems of photonics and condensed matter physics"

In November 14 - 16, 2017 the International scientific seminars "Fundamental and applied problems of photonics and condensed matter physics" will be held in BMSTU.

Seminars schedule

10 NOV 2016

International scientific seminars "Complex (Dusty) Plasma: Interdisciplinary Research"

In November 14 - 18, the International scientific seminars "Complex (Dusty) Plasma: Interdisciplinary Research" will be held in BMSTU.

Seminars schedule

17 SEP 2016

International scientific seminars "Fundamental and applied problems of soft matter physics"

In October 4 - 8, the International scientific seminars "Fundamental and applied problems of soft matter physics" will be held in BMSTU with the support of Russian Science Foundation, grant 14-43-00053.

Seminars schedule

Blog

Mode-coupling instability in monolayer dusty plasma crystal

In the frames of joint cooperation with the Research-Educational Center "Ion-Plasma Technology" we study dusty plasma crystals. This movie illustrates two amazing phenomena - a heavy particle flies over 2D crystal, and a special kind of dusty plasma instability - mode-coupling instability (MCI).More

FDTD simulation

FDTD simulation of interaction between a light and a photonic crystal structure

Various fundamental phenomena, such as electromagnetic wave interaction with structured optical media, photonic crystal structures, metamaterials, can be investigated by means of numerical solution of Maxwell equations using finite-difference time-domain method (FDTD).More

Физика конденсированного состояния

Физика конденсированного состояния — богатейшая область современной физики, важная не только с фундаментальной, но и с прикладной точки зрения. Исследования закономерностей поведения конденсированных сред являют собой основу для технологий управления свойствами веществ, технологий создания новых материалов, а также для создания элементной базы нового поколения в приборостроении.

Оптические сильно-коррелированные системы и методология спектроскопических исследований

Развитие технологий управления светом — актуальная задача современной физики и техники. В последнее время большое внимание в этом направлении привлекают фотонные кристаллы и метаматериалы — среды с периодической в пространстве комплексной диэлектрической и магнитной проницаемостью. Поведение фотонов в таких средах с дальними корреляциями принципиально отличается от обычных однородных сред, что приводит к целому комплексу новых явлений: запрещенным зонам, локализации света и т.д.

ТГц изображающие системы и взаимодействие излучения со структурированными средами

Изображающие системы, работающие в терагерцовом диапазоне электромагнитного излучения, имеют огромную прикладную ценность: они могут использоваться для систем безопасности жизнедеятельности, в биомедицинских приложениях, для технологического и эксплуатационного контроля полимерных конструкций. Для создания таких систем необходимо знать особенности распространения ТГц излучения в различных средах, в т.ч., локально упорядоченных.

Новости

2 ноября

Международные Научные Семинары "Фундаментальные и прикладные проблемы фотоники и физики конденсированного состояния"

С 14 по 16 ноября 2017 года в МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана будет проводиться международный Симпозиум с элементами научной школы для молодых ученых «Фундаментальные и прикладные проблемы фотоники и физики конденсированного состояния».

Программа Симпозиума

10 ноября

Международные cеминары с элементами научной школы для молодых ученых «Комплексная (пылевая) плазма: Междисциплинарные исследования»

С 14 по 18 ноября в МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана будет проводиться международный Симпозиум с элементами научной школы для молодых ученых «Комплексная (пылевая) плазма: Междисциплинарные исследования».

Программа Симпозиума

17 сентября

Международные научные семинары «Фундаментальные и прикладные проблемы физики мягкой материи»

С 4 по 8 октября 2016 года в МГТУ им. Н.Э. Баумана пройдут международные научные семинары «Фундаментальные и прикладные проблемы физики мягкой материи» при поддержке Российского научного фонда, грант №14-43-00053.

Программа семинаров

Блог

Mode-coupling instability в однослойном кристалле комплексно-пылевой плазмы

В рамках сотрудничества с НОЦ «Ионно-плазменные технологии» мы проводим исследования плазменных пылевых кристаллов. На этом видео можно увидеть сразу два удивительных явления — пролет тяжелой частицы над двумерным кристаллов, а также особый вид неустойчивости пылевой плазмы — mode-coupling instability (MCI).Подробнее

FDTD моделирование взаимодействия света с фотонно-кристаллическими структурами

Многие фундаментальные закономерности, описывающие взаимодействие электромагнитного излучения со структурированными оптическими средами, фотонно-кристаллическими структурами, метаматериалами, могут быть изучены при помощи численного решения уравнений Максвелла методом конечных разностей во временной области (finite-difference time-domain — FDTD).Подробнее